X.Kernel – Face The Truth [Ukrainian Melodic Death Metal] on Cimmerian Shade Recordings

RELEASE DATE: 07.04.17
The members of X.Kernel first came together in the city of Kiev, in the Ukraine. Initially they were inspired by the sounds of the Gothenburg metal scene – the hard hitting but overtly melodic music of bands like In Flames, Dark Tranquillity and Soilwork – but as their individual talents blossomed and their song writing skills flourished, so did their unique musical identity. While melodic death metal remained the bedrock of their sound, X.Kernel began to expand and develop in new and exciting directions.
The first hints of just what a potent force X.Kernel were to become could be heard on their 2013 EP, Kingdom Of Pain, a digital self release. Now, after some line-up changes and four years of hard work, all X.Kernel’s potential has been realised in the incredible sounds of their debut album, Face The Truth. The vocal style has expanded to embrace soaring, emotive singing alongside the savage snarls and roars, the keyboard work of Alina Borodkina has come into its own, taking on a defining role in the songs and the music has embraced an exciting, adventurous spirit. The guitars still fire out superb riffs and spiral up into breathtaking solos and the rhythm section can still deliver a hammer blow of heaviness, but X.Kernel are carving out something more. Face The Truth is the sound of a band who are determined to stand out from the crowd, to lead the pack not just run with it.
The quality of Face The Truth was recognised by US label Cimmerian Shade Recordings who were quick to welcome X.Kernel to their roster. Now, on April 7th, the rest of the world will be able to hear the results of this metallic alliance. X.Kernel have combined a mastery of established forms with a fresh and expansive outlook, married depth and emotion to technical skill and forged an album that will capture hearts, minds and souls with its arrival on the field of battle.
Max Sklyar – Vocals
Nikita Larionov – Guitar, Vocals
Alina Borodkina – Keyboards
Oles Malezhyk – Bass

Genre: Melodic Death Metal
For fans of: Dark Tranquillity | Soilwork | In Flames | Evergrey
Further Information: www.facebook.com/xkernelband

Netherbird — Hymns From Realms Yonder – Out April 2017

NETHERBIRD sprung into existence October 30th 2004 in Stockholm, Sweden when Nephente, Bizmark and Grim decided to start collaborating. The was goal was to create harsh metal with influences from both black and death metal without any regard or limitation when it comes to style or even line up. Since their journey began, the band has released four well-received albums featuring guest appearances from members of At the Gates, Katatonia, Lord Belial, Dissection, among others.

A broad retrospective of all rarities, covers and non-album tracks throughout Netherbird history, Hymns from Realms Yonder is a must-have for every collector. Tunes that were once available as digital releases only have now been gathered into one CD summarizing the band’s creative journey through the first decade of its existence. Written and recorded during different session and lineups, these songs present a staggering sonic rollercoaster when it comes to their sound, tone and atmosphere, at the same time remaining recognizable and keeping all the distinctive elements that made Netherbird who they are today.

Original tunes (single b-sides as well as limited EP’s material) are neighboured by several cover versions of renowned classics of metal and obscure alternative, including Annihilator, Paradise Lost, and Sentenced. Vika Yermolyeva’s masterpiece piano rendition of Pillars of the Sky is definitely a rare gem to crown the album. The release is scheduled for the 7th of April, 2017, via Black Lodge Records.

Genre: Melodic Black/Death Metal

Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Release Date: 7 April, 2017

Label: Black Lodge Records

Format: CD & Digital

Track – List:

1. Brazen Splendor
2. Scuptors and Specres
3. Myosotis Scorpioides
4. Abysmal Allure
5. Swedish Sadness (Sorrow’s My Vessel)
6. Born Defiant
7. Shadows and Snow
8. Twilight Gushes Forth….
9. Nightwards
10. Ode to the False (esse non Videri)
11. As I Die
12. Nepenthe
13. Alison Hell
14. Firmanent Vacation
15. Conquest, Love & Self Perseverance. The Gospel Of Aptitude
16. Pillars (Reprise)

Vocals: Nephente
Guitars, Keyboards: Bizmark
Guitars, Vocals: Nord

(Along with several guest appearances)

Sons Ov Omega – Reign – Out Now!

SONS OV OMEGA was formed in Umeå, Sweden, in 2012 by Tiamat Invictuz and Arktos. They were soon joined by Mors on lead Guitar. Originally Tiamat Invictuz held the role as Bass-player, but the lack of a rhythm guitarist resulted in Tiamat Invictuz taking up the role. At the same time, Anthropos joined with the role of vocalist. This was the start of the creative process.

With the vast difference in musical influence, the band spent most of their time trying to find a common ground, a structure of the band and a shared vision in music, lyrics, themes and future. The following years were spent refining the sound. Mors and Tiamat Invictuz wrote tracks upon tracks, while Tiamat Invictuz and Anthropos collaborated to find a cohesive lyrical theme to represent the band. Their shared fascination with death and annihilation turned their eyes to the mythologies, tales and deities of the apocalypse.

And in 2015, when Sons ov Omega finally was ready to enter the studio, they choose to record a full-length album with the tracks that had survived throughout the years. It resulted in the debut album “Reign”. The album showcases a sonic template whose genre can be very hard to pinpoint, bringing to mind the classic works of Edge of Sanity, Enslaved and even Opeth. In 2016 Sons Ov Omega signed with Black Lion Records for its release. “Reign” is set for release in February 18th,2017 at a live concert in Umeå, Sweden, and fellow label mates Defiatory and Wormlight will be playing as the supporting acts.

Sons Ov Omega
(Full Length)

Genre: Melodic Black/Death

Location: Umea, Sweden

Release Date: February 18, 2017

Label: Black Lion Records

Format: CD & Digital (All Major Platforms)

Track – List:

1. Pandora
2. Fields of Vermin
3. Quetzalcoatl
4. Nuclear Salvation
5. Malleus Maleficarum
6. Kali

7. Brainwave Zero
8. The Tempest
9. Deluge
10. Dreams of a Sunken City (Intro)
11. Cthulhu


Available on Bandcamp

Anthropos – Vocals
Tiamat Invictuz – Guitars/Vocals
Mors – Guitars
Arktos – Drums